able muse

D. R. Goodman

D. R. Goodman is the author of Greed: A Confession (Able Muse Press, 2014). Twice winner of the Able Muse Write Prize for poetry, and 2015 winner of the Howard Nemerov Sonnet Award, her work has appeared in such journals as New Ohio Review, THINK Journal, Whitefish Review, Crazyhorse, and many others. Her poems have been chosen for inclusion in Ted Kooser’s American Life in Poetry and in the anthologies Extreme Sonnets, Beth Houston, editor; and 150 Contemporary Sonnets, William Baer, editor.


E. D. Watson

E. D. Watson earned an MFA in Creative Writing and is a candidate for certification through the Institute for Poetic Medicine. Once upon a time they lived in New Orleans, where they survived a mugging at gunpoint and were later ousted by hurricane Katrina. Now, they’re in training to be a yoga instructor, and work as a night clerk at a public library in San Marcos, Texas. For fun, they play cello and go on pilgrimages.



Deborah Warren

Deborah Warren’s poems have appeared in the New Yorker, the Paris Review, Poetry, and the Yale Review. She published two books in 2021: Strange to Say: Etymology for Serious Entertainment; and Connoisseurs of Worms, a collection of poems. Her previous books are three other collections: Zero Meridian, The Size of Happiness, and Dream With Flowers and Bowl of Fruit; and a translation, Ausonius: The Moselle and Other Poems.


N.S. Thompson

N.S. Thompson is the nonfiction editor for Able Muse and lives near Oxford, UK. A poet, critic and translator of Italian fiction, with Andy Croft he edited A Modern Don Juan: Cantos for These Times by Divers Hands (Five Leaves). His poetry publications include Letter to Auden (Smokestack Books), Mr Larkin on Photography (Red Squirrel), and two recent pamphlets After War (New Walk Editions) and Ghost Hands (Melos Press).


Joachim Stanley

Joachim Stanley obtained a doctorate in English Literature from Oxford University in 2005. He then retrained as a lawyer, and has since published extensively in medico-legal and literary journals. He is now a senior lawyer, and works in Bath, UK.



Chidiebube onye Okohia

Chidiebube onye Okohia is a Nigerian creative and author of the chapbook Of Dark Tides and Darkling Times. His works have appeared in Counterclock,, the Daily Drunk, and elsewhere. He is the poetry editor of the Shallow Tales Review and is a Pushcart and Best of the Net nominee.



Michelle Cacho-Negrete

Michelle Cacho-Negrete is a retired social worker in Portland, Maine, and the author of Stealing: Life in America. Winner of the Hope Award and runner-up in the Brooklyn Literary Arts contest, she’s had over ninety publications, two in the Best of the Net, five in anthologies, and four among The Best American Essays’ most notable. She is particularly thrilled at being in Able Muse, a favorite journal.



Mark Pearce

Mark Pearce is an author/playwright whose stories have been published in national magazines and plays produced on the New York stage and around the country. He was previously Resident Playwright of the New Ensemble Actors Theater of New York, and his play Asylum is listed in the Burns/Mantle Theater Yearbook: The Best Plays series. He resides in the Denver-metro area and has lived in Arizona, Texas, and briefly, Greenwich Village while one of his plays was being produced Off-Broadway.


Sarah Carleton

Sarah Carleton writes poetry, edits fiction, plays the banjo, and makes her husband laugh in Tampa, Florida. Her poems have appeared in numerous publications, including Nimrod, Chattahoochee Review, Tar River Poetry, Crab Orchard Review, Pirene’s Fountain, Valparaiso Poetry Review, and New Ohio Review. Her first collection, Notes from the Girl Cave, was recently published by Kelsay Books.



Kelly Rowe

Kelly Rowe received her MFA in English from the University of Iowa. She is the winner of the 2021 Able Muse Book Award for her poetry collection Rise above the River (includes “The Way Memory Works”), forthcoming from Able Muse Press in 2022. Her chapbooks are Flying South on the Back of a Dove (Texas Review Press, 2019) and Child Bed Fever, selected for the 2021 Rane Arroyo Series, forthcoming from Seven Kitchens Press.


Syndicate content