Eratosphere Forums - Metrical Poetry, Free Verse, Fiction, Art, Critique, Discussions Able Muse - a review of poetry, prose and art

Forum Left Top

Notices

Unread 12-23-2022, 07:10 PM

Default What have you learned from involvement with poetry?

A little background, I've been writing poetry somewhat consistently since 2012. In 2014 and 2017 I put together two non-serious books, and in 2020 took a stab at putting together a more serious work. Not to sell, more as a compilation for my own poetry collection.

When I started the project it was primarily just for fun, something to do, but as I continued it took on a life of it's own, and the finished product ended up being pretty cool.

But what I didn't anticipate at the beginning was how much the project would teach me. About writing poetry, about publishing, about the act of being a poet, and in some ways about people themselves.

That's all intentionally vague as I want to use it as a lead-in for this discussion, rather than spelling out my experiences straight-away.

I'm curious what you've learned from being a poet. Not necessarily about writing poetry itself, but it could be that. More generally, how the act of being a writer and engaging with the genre has affected you.
Unread 12-24-2022, 11:03 AM

When things are going well and the words are flowing, it's because I've learned to focus on being a writer, as opposed to talking about being a writer. When the words are not flowing - and they're now right now - I get unpleasant.

Last edited by Michael Cantor; 12-24-2022 at 02:34 PM.
Unread 12-25-2022, 07:26 PM

Unfortunately, I don't have the the time to write these days, so talking about being a writer has to suffice.

There is absolutely nothing I'd love more than to sit down and write all day over coffee, but e-mail with excessive flair will have to do.
Unread 12-26-2022, 03:14 PM

Hi,