2020 Able Muse Book Award & Write Prize: Submissions Now Open + Latest Books

Re-Size Text: A A A A Comment

RSS blog print

Announcing the 2020
Able Muse
poetry/fiction/book contests:

Submissions now open for
for the Able Muse Write Prize & the Able Muse Book Award

2020 Contest now open for submissions:

ABLE MUSE WRITE PRIZE (for poetry & fiction)
Able Muse Write Prize (for poetry & flash fiction)Emily Grosholz - poetry judge; Hollis Seamon - fiction judge$500 for the winning poem (all styles welcome)
$500 for the winning story
publication in Able Muse (print edition)
• anonymous judging by the final judges: 
 Emily Grosholz (poetry),  Hollis Seamon (fiction)

Entry deadline: March 15, 2020

• Details at: https://www.ablemusepress.com/

2019 Winners:
David MacRae Landon - Poetry (judged by Erica Dawson),
Erin Russell - Fiction (judged by Jacob M. Appel)
. . . $500 to each winner. Complete results here.

ABLE MUSE BOOK AWARD (for poetry manuscript)
Able Muse Write Prize (for poetry & flash fiction)Brad Leithauser - final judge for the Book Award$1000 prize
publication of winning book manuscript by Able Muse Press
• all poetry styles welcome
Entry deadline: March 31, 20120
• anonymous judging by final judge: Brad Leithauser 

• Details at:  https://www.ablemusepress.com/

2019 Winners: Will Cordeiro for her manuscript, Trap Street - (judged by David Mason)
. . . $1000 to the winner & publication by Able Muse Press. Complete results here.


SB Able Muse Press  announces the release of
The Cupped Field - Poems
by Deirdre O'Connor 
WINNER, 2018 Able Muse Book Award
(as selected by Marilyn Nelson)

978-1-77349-035-9 • December 13, 2019 release • 92 pp.
*NEW* Now available for Order:


Written with great compassion, precision, and nuance, these gorgeously made poems face into the heartbreaks of time and loss, of selves and ex-selves.
— Mary Szybist, author of Incarnadine

Here is a poet who knows that the mind is complex, a map of many countries, in some of which people are starving.
— Marilyn Nelson, 2018 Able Muse Book Award judge, author of Faster Than Light

I am in awe of this poet for many reasons but especially the way she charts a direct line between the mind that takes in the world, in all its beauty and tragedy, and the ethical voice that speaks out of that witness.
— Shara McCallum, author of Madwoman

These are not just good poems. They are spells. . . . Deirdre O’Connor is an exquisite lyric poet.
— Ilya Kaminsky, author of Deaf Republic

*NEW* Now available for Order:
The Cupped Field - Poems by Deirdre O'Connor
Read More
Character Shoes - Poems by Kate Light
Time Is Always Now - Poems by Rebecca Starks
Saint Worm - Poems by Hailey Leithauser
Frozen Charlotte - Poems by Susan de Sola
coming soon
New Jersey Noir: Cape May - a novel by William Baer

New Jersey Noir:
Cape May - a novel

By William Baer

coming soon
Motherland - Poems by Sally Thomas

Motherland - Poems
By Sally Thomas

coming soon
Spooky Action at a Distance - Poems by David Alpaugh

Spooky Action at
a Distance - Poems

By David Alpaugh

coming soon
The Exquisite Triumphs of Wormboy - Poems & Illustrations by Sydney Lea & James Kochalka

The Exquisite
Triumphs of Wormboy
- Poems &

By Sydney Lea
James Kochalka


Able Muse Review - Print Edition (Number 26): Winter 2018/19

I'm pleased to announce that the current Able Muse, Winter 2018 (Print Edition, Number 26), has just been released, with order/subscription information (for print & Kindle, NOOK, Kobo & iBooks editions), with online excerpts and the subscribers' online edition at: www.AbleMuse.com

Able Muse Review - Print Edition (Number 26): Winter 2018
Featured Poet: Matthew Buckley Smith
(interviewed by Joanna Pearson)
Featured Art: A "Couples" Theme

With the 2018 Able Muse Write Prize for poetry & fiction — 
Includes the winning story & poems from contest winners and finalists.
Able Muse, Number 26 - Winter 2018
editorial:Alexander Pepple
featured art: A "Couples" Theme featured poet: Matthew Buckley Smith (interviewed by Joanna Pearson) • fiction: Anthony J. Otten, Claudette E. Sutton essays: Stella Pye, Michael Cohen, Sam Aaron Morgan book reviews: Brooke Clark poetry: Amit Majmudar, Gabriel Spera, Lynn Marie Houston, Maryann Corbett, D. R. Goodman, Heinrich Heine, Terese Coe, Andrew Frisardi, Alexis Sears, Ann M. Thompson, Melissa Cannon, David Allen Sullivan, Rob Wright.
With special thanks for an outstanding new issue to --Nicole Caruso Garcia, Susan de Sola, Scott M. Miller (Assistant Poetry Editors); N.S. Thompson (Nonfiction Editor);  Karen Kevorkian (Fiction Editor); Cheryl Diane Kidder, Rob Wright (Assistant Fiction Editors).

Alex Pepple, Editor


Support Able Muse / Eratosphere

For more information or for review copies, contact Able Muse Press here. 

Able Muse     ||     Eratosphere

Able Muse Press     ||     Word Galaxy Press


All applicable links are at the Able Muse homepage - www.ablemuse.com
Or, at the Able Muse Press website - www.ablemusepress.com
Or, at the Able Word Galaxy website - www.wordgalaxy.com


Newsletter Subscription | Forward